American Collegiate Hockey Association Powered by Goalline Sports Administration Software

USA Hockey Annual Award Winners Announced


Katie Vaughan and Marshall Stevenson will be recognized for their contributions at USA Hockey's annual Night of Tribute Awards Dinner on June 4.

USA Hockey Press Release

COLORADO SPRINGS, Colo. - USA Hockey will host its 2014 Annual Congress June 4-7, at the Hotel Elegante in Colorado Springs, Colorado. The four-day event provides USA Hockey’s various councils, committees and affiliates the opportunity to conduct the business of the national governing body and celebrate the year’s accomplishments. In addition, two dinners will be staged to honor those who have contributed to the success of USA Hockey and celebrate the 2013-14 season.

USA Hockey will honor its service award recipients and various players of the year on June 4 at its annual Night of Tribute Awards Dinner, while the other top awards will be presented June 6 during the President’s Awards Dinner.

Wednesday’s award recipients include Adult Player of the Year Katie Vaughan (Pittsburgh, Pa.), Bob Allen Women’s Player of the Year Hilary Knight (Sun Valley, Idaho), Dave Tyler Junior Player of the Year Tucker Poolman (East Grand Forks, Minn.), Dave Peterson Goaltender of the Year Cal Petersen (Waterloo, Iowa), College Player of the Year Johnny Gaudreau (Carneys Point, N.J.), and Disabled Athlete of the Year Connor Barge (Harrison, Ohio).

President’s Awards Dinner honorees will include Adult Member of the Year Marshall Stevenson, Jr. (Potsdam, N.Y.), Bob Johnson Award winner Andy Yohe (Bettendorf, Iowa), Distinguished Achievement Award recipient Jack Parker (Somerville, Mass.), and Chet Stewart Award honoree Harold “Skip” Trumble (Moorhead, Minn.).

Also recognized Friday will be Excellence in Safety Award recipient Dr. Carolyn Emery, Walter Yaciuk Award winner Dennis Bushy (Moorhead, Minn.), Builders Award winner Tony Rossi (Hinsdale, Ill.), and Wm. Thayer Tutt Award honoree Dave Wiitanen (Hancock, Mich.).

Katie Vaughan
Adult Player of the Year, presented by Labatt Blue

Katie Vaughan backstopped the U.S. to its first-ever medal in the Winter World University Games and helped the Penn State women’s club team to a runner-up finish in American Collegiate Hockey Association Women’s Division 2. The Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, native, posted a 15-4-2 record with a 1.30 goals against average and .939 save percentage for the Nittany Lions in 2013-14 on her way to earning ACHA First-Team All-America honors. At the Winter World University Games in Trentino, Italy, Vaughan turned aside all but one of 38 shots on goal in the bronze-medal game against Japan to help the U.S. to a 3-1 victory and its first-ever medal in the event. She played in four of the team’s seven games and made 130 total saves. Off the ice, Vaughan helped the Penn State women’s team by serving as the vice-president of the program for the past two seasons. Additionally, she has previously coached youth hockey at various times since getting into the sport nearly two decades ago.

The Adult Player of the Year Award is presented annually to an individual who performed exceptionally during the past year as a member of a U.S. adult hockey team or as a participant at an adult hockey event in the United States.

Marshall Stevenson, Jr.
Adult Member of the Year, presented by Labatt Blue

It’s possible that no one has helped create more opportunities for American men and women to play competitive college hockey than Marshall Stevenson, Jr., a founding father of the American Collegiate Hockey Association. Formerly a coach at Towson (Md.) University, Stevenson joined the ACHA board of directors in 1994. He ascended to his current role as ACHA president in 2004, overseeing an expansion from 15 teams nationwide to more than 430. Today’s ACHA includes three men’s divisions and two women’s divisions, giving thousands of student-athletes a competitive hockey opportunity to complement their studies. In recognition for his tireless efforts and leadership, Stevenson was named recipient of the ACHA’s Don Spencer Award for outstanding service in 2009. A 1966 graduate of the University of Vermont, Stevenson also serves as the ACHA’s representative on the American Hockey Coaches Association board of governors. Stevenson, who played forward, was a major part of re-launching varsity hockey at Vermont in 1963-64 after a 12-season absence.

The Adult Member of the Year Award is presented to an individual who has made outstanding contributions during many years of service to the ice hockey community as an adult player and/or volunteer.


Goalline Sports Administration Systems
Powered by Goalline Hockey Software