American Collegiate Hockey Association Powered by Goalline Sports Administration Software

2013-2014 Women's Division 2 Coach of the Year, Presented by Harrow Sports




The 2014 American Collegiate Hockey Association [ACHA] Women's Division 2 Coach of the Year Award, presented by Harrow Sports, goes to Patrick Fung of Penn State University, as selected by the Head Coaches of ACHA Women's Division 2.  This is the first ACHA Women's Division 2 Coach of the Year Award for Patrick.
Patrick will be presented his ACHA Women's Division 2 Coach of the Year Award at the American Hockey Coaches Association Coach of the Year Celebration on Friday, May 2, 2014, at The Naples Beach Hotel & Golf Club in Naples, FL.
The 2013-2014 season was a continuation of Penn State’s rapid climb in ACHA Women’s Division 2 after returning as a new program following Penn State’s move to NCAA hockey in 2012.  Fung and the Penn State Women’s Team followed their appearance in last season’s National Championship game with a 14-2-2 regular season, winning the College Hockey East Women’s (CHE-W) Regular Season Championship and held the #1 East Ranking for three of the four ranking periods.  At the 2014 ACHA Women’s Division 2 National Tournament, Penn State swept its pool defeating the University of Alaska, the University of Delaware and North Dakota State University, then beat familiar opponent California University of Pennsylvania in the semifinals before falling to Iowa State University 1-0 in the Women’s Division 2 National Championship Game.  Of equal note, Patrick’s team posted a fall term GPA of 3.45, with 11 of 20 players making the Dean’s List (3.5+ GPA) and two perfect 4.0 marks.
After playing hockey at Penn State and a stint in a non-hockey career, Patrick returned to Penn State and was the Head Coach of the ACHA Men’s Division 2 team from 2004-2007, earning auto-bids to the ACHA Men’s Division 2 National Tournament each year. Patrick also served as an Assistant Coach under longtime Penn State ACHA Men’s Division 1 Coaches Joe Battista and Scott Balboni, as well as ACHA Women’s Division 1 Coach Mo Stroemel from 2004-2012.  During this time, the Penn State ACHA Men’s Division 1 Team earned six of their 20 consecutive ACHA National Tournament bids, with ACHA Men’s Division 1 National Championship Game appearances in 2005, 2006 and 2007, while the ACHA Women’s Team appeared in one National Tournament.
A native of Hillsborough, NJ, Patrick lives in State College, PA and is active with local youth hockey and high school organizations and has worked with Penn State and the Mid-Am District hockey camps for over 10 years.
2013-2014 PENN STATE 19 4 2 80.0%
2012-2013 PENN STATE 8 4 1 65.4%
2006-2007 PENN STATE (Men’s D2) 24 7 1 76.6%
2005-2006 PENN STATE (Men’s D2) 26 6 0 81.3%
2004-2005 PENN STATE (Men’s D2) 26 7 0 78.8%
TOTALS 103 28 4 77.8%
Past Winners of the ACHA Women’s Division 2 Coach of the Year Award:
2013-2014 Patrick Fung Penn State University
2012-2013 David Japchen West Chester University
2011-2012 Scott Vockeroth University of Alaska
2010-2011 Heath Isaacson South Dakota State University
2009-2010 Sharon Addison University of Delaware
2008-2009 Nick Carpenito Northeastern University
2007-2008 Sharon Addison University of Delaware
2006-2007 Heath Isaacson South Dakota State University

Goalline Sports Administration Systems
Powered by Goalline Hockey Software