American Collegiate Hockey Association Powered by Goalline Sports Administration Software

Iowa State triumphs over Penn State for 2014 National Title


A narrow 1-0 margin of victory was enough for ISU who knocked off Penn State to capture the 2014 title.

A tight checking, defensive battle yielded just one goal between Penn State and Iowa State as the Cyclones took home their first National Championship on Sunday.

Penn State entered Sunday’s final seeking redemption from their National Championship loss to West Chester in 2013. However, another terrific performance from Tournament MVP Millie Luedtke helped lift ISU past the Nittany Lions.

Luedtke scored the game’s lone goal on a power play with just 7:21 remaining in the third period. It was one of 11 Cyclone shots directed at the PSU net in the third period alone. Katie Vaughan was up to the task as she turned away 22 shots, earning First Team All-Tournament honors for her performance. However, it was the one that got past her that served as the difference maker.

Both PSU and ISU played tight games for the entire tournament, showing a penchant for narrow victories and strong play from the goal out. Sophie Puente was terrific for ISU, particularly in the closing minutes as PSU pushed to tie. She finished with 22 saves of her own in the win.

Iowa State becomes the third different champion to take home the title over the past three seasons.

Tournament MVP: Millie Luedtke - Iowa State University

1st Team All-Tournament Team
Kacie Johnson (NDSU), Devon Fisk (PSU) Millie Luedtke (ISU) Tara Soukup (PSU) Margo Laboon (Cal) Katie Vaughan (PSU)

2nd Team All-Tournament Team
 Ashley Bye (ISU) Kelsey DeNardo (Cal) Alexandra Nelson (UW-Lacrosse) Kate Frederickson (NDSU) Rebecca Horn (UW-Lacrosse) Maria Scaicca (Cal)

Goalline Sports Administration Systems
Powered by Goalline Hockey Software